Blue skies, slight chance of pain

I daydreamed I was like Michelangelo while painting this mural of clouds on the ceiling of Cinelli’s, an Italian restaurant in Durham last year. I know his Sistine Chapel was much… more. I had just started sculpting and, hey, it was a daydream! 

I had no scaffolding, only a wobbly ladder and I developed a new respect for the man who could paint entire masterpieces with his neck craned like that.

One day I heard fighting in the back while I was on my wobbly ladder and I was really upset. I felt helpless while someone was getting hurt. Afterward, I had to leave for the day because I couldn’t work anymore. I had nightmares about it.

The next day I saw the person I had been worried about. I walked into the restaurant and he was standing there looking up at one of the clouds I had painted, smiling quietly. His smile is my greatest accomplishment as an artist.

6 Responses

  1. Yes, that’s the greatest feeling when complete strangers are stopping for a second to enjoy your work. Nice clouds, by the way. So do you paint, too?

  2. Believe me, after what I witnessed he was not a stranger anymore.

    I can’t say I’m a painter although I would like to learn. I walked into that job with no experience because someone was in a bind. The woman who was initially hired for the ceiling started it and was in so much neck pain she couldn’t continue. The man who hired me told me to look at pictures of clouds and be at this address in the morning so there I was -alone, having no idea what I was doing, but I had to do it upside down, on a ladder and in front of an audience.

    Thank goodness clouds are somewhat simple! But if ever you go to this restaurant, you will see all the flaws in the clouds.

  3. For our next ceiling, we want a storm, kimiam.

  4. I’ve never done that before, but I’d be glad to give it a try. :P~

  5. thank’s

  6. You’re welcome! I’m not sure for what, but you’re welcome. 🙂

Leave a comment