smile

smallsmile0020 smalls smallsmile0018 smallsmile0015

 

Here is a quiet little moment with the tiny smile of an eight-year-old girl. I sure wish I had a model for this because I very much want to be good at sculpting children.

I’ve been working on this sculpture during our kitchen remodeling project. We finally finished laying tile on the kitchen floor and it’s gorgeous. That thing that irritates me so much about my husband…his grueling, torturous perfectionism, is also the thing that after the project is done I’m most proud of him for. My hands ache from handling the porcelain tiles and trying to scrub thinset off my fingertips, from scouring the tile again and again to remove the grout film.

I have a toaster oven and a microwave to prepare meals with. The fridge is in the ice-cold garage.  I have to be near starvation to risk exposure to the sub arctic temperatures.

You never know when you may be called upon at 5:40am from your warm, toasty bed to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  The jelly’s in the garage. NOOOooooo….

11 Responses

  1. That is very nice. I love the pose, especially the way you’ve modeled the lower (left?) leg and foot and the slight hunch to the shoulders.

    You are already good at sculpting children.

  2. Todd, thank you! You’re very kind.

  3. You did a very good job on her pose and her body. The dress is very well done. When I first looked at her I thought she was a few years older. Did you use a photo for this? How about using your own children as model?

  4. Erika, thank you. I used about 20 photos for reference. My children are teenagers so their anatomy and faces no longer represent younger stages in life.

  5. I like this piece from every angle. The only question I have is – can the dress material be made to look thinner? I can see it might cause a problem and wonder how it would be done.

  6. Bill, that’s a great suggestion. I have one more opportunity to refine this one after it’s fired, I will sand it. I’ll see what I can do to make the fabric appear thinner.

    Probably more wrinkles and folds in fabric of future sculptures and a thinner, crisper edge would give a better illusion.

  7. You model really well, kimiam. I like her arms and, like Todd, the hunch. The folds of that cloth (it reminds me of Snoopy’s blanket in the first frame) are good too.

  8. Thank you, swallows!

  9. Are you taking a rest?

  10. no, working on another sculpture. It’s almost done. I’ll take pics soon.

  11. Ok, I’m holding my breath. Ah ah ah ah ah (I’m taking a very deep breath just in case)

Leave a Reply

