Oracle

"Oracle" by Kim Marchesseault"Oracle" by Kim Marchesseault   I was invited to try out a new figure study model by my friend, Jim Fatata, at Litmus Gallery on Monday. I swear I said to Jim, “I don’t know if I remember how to sculpt. It’s been a while.” Of course, I feel that way every time I begin. I see only the flaws in my work.

Thank you for your kindness and support throughout my artless, depressed period.  I still don’t have a place to work. I had to finish this on my dining room table. It’s drying on top of the fridge.

8 Responses

  1. She’s very nice, Kimiam. I hope she prophesies good things for us in these hard times. For some reason she comes in darkish on my screen so I can’t see details except her profile and that nice, long, twiney or viney hair. I see you have begun to play with colored background lights like a real photographer.
    I hope your hubby doesn’t eat her one sleepless night, thinking she is a chocolate Santa on the icebox..

  2. That shouldn’t turn you off, Kim. My studio has always been my kitchen table. You can still make progress and experiment. Sure it’s a drag bringing up everything from the basement, cleaning up and taking back everything again when you’re done for the day, but once you get into the routine it doesn’t talke longer than half hour for me.
    I like her hair too, and she looks so nice from the side. I always have problems with sides. Nice start, keep going.

  3. Swallows, thank you! I’m not sure why you can’t see the image. Maybe you could try adjusting the brightness of your monitor.

    I wish I were a great photographer! The background is the actual sunset reflected off of a white sheet of paper.

    Erika, it’s the contaminants. It’s not a good idea to work with water-based clay in your home due to the particle size of dried clay dust. …so I keep it to a minimum. Sanding and finishing are outside jobs. I clean up with water and I do have a Sebo vacuum and a nice air filter to take care of .1 micron particle size.

    Thank you for the comments. BTW, this one is finished. She will just need maintenance as she’s drying. Dry time is about a month before she can be fired.

  4. I like this piece. Glad to see you back at it.

  5. Thank you, Bills!

  6. Yes, clay dust can be harmful. I don’t have that problem with paper mache, only when I mix it with water, and I use a dust mask for that. Other than that, no dust, just crumbs that stick to everything like glue.

    I meant keep up the good work in general.

  7. Thanks, erika! I may give paper mache a try soon. I saw some pretty amazing relief sculptures in paper mache at a recent show.

  8. That’s cool. Show some pics. I’d love to hear what do you think of paper mache! 🙂

Leave a Reply

