Hanna is not really a girl

Hanna Jubran installs "Earth, Water, Wind, Fire #2" as Ken Jarvis looks on.  photo by Kim Marchesseault 

ECU professor, Hanna Jubran, kept me and many of the people around him laughing as he installed his work in the  CVA sculpture show

He helped other sculptors install their work as well. Some of the artists  in this exhibit had been students of his.

From the looks of it he was well on his way to picking up a few new students.

In the image on the left Hanna is drilling holes into a pre-cast concrete pad so he can bolt this sculpture in place for the 10-month duration of the Cary Visual Art show.

The ingenious use of a peculiar shade of blue creates movement and electric energy between tectonic plates of the sixteen-foot-tall, painted steel sculpture called “Earth, Water, Wind, Fire #2” by Hanna Jubran.

He says of the pR.N. Rouse & Co., who donated their crane services, work here to place Hanna Jubran's sculpture in the CVA Showiece, “It expresses the cycle of life, growth and continuum. The interplay of shape, form, space and colors. These four elements are seen in a variety of forms, shapes and colors as they occur in nature. They are ever changing.”

On the right you can see Hanna’s work still strapped to the boom truck. It was slightly lifted off the ground as members of the crew turned it by hand to achieve good placement.

p.s. Hanna, thank you for clearing it up that you’re not a girl.

5 Responses

  1. Nice exhibit. My favs are And Then One day…It Happened (hope I’m quoting correctly)-and I would really like to see a larger photo of this one-, and Jacob’s Ladder. Wasn’t Paris Alexander your stone carving teacher? Very nice organic piece.

  2. Erika, so good to be in your company again.

    I also love “And Then One Day…It Happened”. That one was installed a day earlier than scheduled and unfortunately I wasn’t aware so I didn’t have the chance to photograph the installation, but I can post pictures of the sculpture and tell you what the artist shared with me about the work.

    The photos I have of Paris’s installation are some of my favorites because so many people had a hand in it. –
    The pictures look incredible to me. Yes, he is my stone carving teacher and I will share the images of his installation process soon.

  3. Yes, please show pictures and stories on both. Very enjoyable read and action

  4. This piece is really beautiful and so is the air guitar.

  5. Thanks, Erika. I was hoping you guys would like this stuff! I’ve been having such a good time and have learned so much. It’s good to have friends to share with.

    Bill, if I see Hanna or Mike, I’ll tell them you said that!

Leave a Reply

