Digging deeper

stone carving day 4 Kim Marchesseault 

At the point this photo was taken, I was told not to carve further on the hair or fabric around the face, and not to carve the hand yet so the face began to shrink a bit and become enclosed by the stone. I had a hard time reaching the places I needed to work on. I know the idea was to preserve options for future. It’s hard for me to work on areas someone else tells me to, or to ignore parts of a whole piece.  I like to flit around from part to part and let the whole thing take shape.

I’ve been told this face is ugly, that it looks like a man, that it must be an Asian woman. Someone, trying to help me out, took a chisel and removed her left cheek bone prior to this picture because they disagreed about the structure of this face. I was really upset afterward and I had to carve deeper to get the cheek partially restored.  Now the nose looks crooked and adjustments need to be made.  I am doing my best to use these comments, experiences and the guidance to benefit the quality of my work overall. I guess it’s good to run into many obstacles to learn better how to deal with them.

I love working with a hammer and chisel. I love the feel of the tools in my hands. I hope I wind up with something that looks human in the end.

 

This is part five of the series on this stone carving.

Part 4: Little bit older and a lot less boulder

Part 3: Fo shizzel my chizzel

Part 2: The cure for stonliness is a friend with a chisel

Part 1: Turned to stone

9 Responses

  1. oh i love it 🙂

  2. I think you are doing just fine, kimiam. It’s a shame you have to listen to so many people. Anyway, try to take some distance from this and consider it just one more practice piece. Don’t get hung up (I know that’s easy to say). Maybe you could try a small face at home (on your won) with a soft stone (or even a slab of plaster), to see which problems come up again and to try to solve them one more time when you feel a flop doesn’t matter.

  3. Looks and sounds like really interesting work. I’ve never done anything like this but thought that working in stone was facinating ever since reading Look Homeward Angel in high school. There was some description of it in there – as I recall, the protagonist’s father was a sculptor.

  4. Kaylee, Thank you! I hope you’re doing well. Did you remember to put that jell-o under the mattress during your escape from the hospital?

    Swallows, you are so kind. I guess a flop always matters to me but it is part of life. So I’ll make my mistakes and finish this work. Hopefully I’ll make some good decisions, too. -Maybe enough to water down the mistakes. One always hopes.

    Paul, I’ll have to read the book you mentioned. I googled it and it looks interesting. Congrats again on publishing your own book. Right now I’m reading Everyday Enlightenment.

  5. Kim, from your progress I can tell stone carving is even more difficult then wood carving. Once you become acclimatized with the new technique, you’ll be fine. From what I can see it looks the complete opposite of modeling, no wonder you have a hard time with it.
    All that matters is that you love to work with the chisel and hammer! And she looks human already!

  6. […] Digging deeper […]

  7. Did you hit your finger with the hammer?

  8. Miss you, chickie.

  9. I miss you too!

Leave a Reply

