300 Glass Daggers and Some Duct Tape.

I looked up at 300 glass daggers above me, ready to stab me in the eyes and realized that would be everything for me as an artist if I lost my vision. I put my safety glasses on, I taped the predatory broken glass perched above me and shoveled shards from the ground into the trash. Two needles of glass pierced me through my leather gloves.

No, it’s not a dream. My garage door came off its track.  3 large glass windows shattered. It needs a major overhaul. I’d really rather go on a vacation than spend $2,000 on a new garage door. I made some adjustments to it yesterday, and it’s back on track now.  All I have to do is cut glass to fit it, order some more plastic inserts, paint it and add some braces to a spot where the wood split. I was going to do that today but…

This morning I rolled out of bed and drove the kids to school. I looked in the rear view mirror. I had bed head. I was still wearing the shirt I slept in last night, with a light jacket thrown over it.

On the way back my car broke down. My cell phone was handy …on the kitchen counter at home.

I knocked on the door of the house I landed in front of. The lights were on, television on inside huge open window by the door.  No answer. Knocked again. Nothing. I walked away, but looked back to see someone eerily standing there, staring at me through the enormous window beside the door like I was some kind of alien. Clearly terrified by my bed head and disheveled sleeping shirt. Wow, I might have the same reception at every house on this street.

I tried the next one. It was a blue house with a giant porch. The man who answered kindly handed me his cell phone and left me on his front porch to use it. My husband didn’t pick up. He was probably in the shower. He would, no doubt, call me back on my cell phone, which would ring on the kitchen counter next to him.

I thanked the man and his sweet wife for the use of the phone and resolved myself to walk the rest of the way home. About a mile to walk, it was only a little overcast, mild weather and thankfully I’d brought a leash with me for my dog. I’d been meaning to get some exercise, anyway.

As I started out, the woman in the blue house came out and told me she and her husband wanted to drive me home. Turns out they used to live across the street from my house before I moved there. They knew everyone in the neighborhood. My poodle jumped into the woman’s lap like he was home.

I have to thank them somehow. -And I have to get my car back; and fix the garage door  …but first the in laws are coming tonight.

3 Responses

  1. Seems like Fortuna played a bad joke on you today. But then she saw the daggers and moved on. Hope you’ll have a better one tomorrow. 🙂

  2. You are kind. Thank you.

  3. Helluva morning — you win!

Leave a Reply

