Another look

unnamedstanding by Kim MarchesseaultHere’s another view of the unnamed piece I finished sculpting yesterday.

When I photograph artwork in the round, as I rotate it certain views have excellent lines or the positioning of the figure expresses interest and draws you in so you want to see more. Those are the images I try to use.

These are just quick shots of the unfired piece. I hope to create quality images after firing.

These sculptures require a long drying time of about a month because they are almost solid. For those of you who know about water based clay, here is the reason they are able to dry and be fired without exploding in the kiln due to thickness. There is a labyrinth of channels cut throughout the piece that allows air and moisture to escape starting just below the surface of the piece and open to the base. I cut them before I refine the surface.

5 Responses

  1. Nice. I like the musculature in that lifted leg and where it meets the hip. Very nice.

  2. Todd, I know you do some figurative sculpture. Nothing beats a live model and working among a group of other artists. Usually you can find a place to at least sketch a live model with a group in your area.

    hmmm….I say that as I am working on my two tasks without a live model.

    But seriously, you learn so much, see so much more and then you innovate and that is when the brilliant things happen.

    I’ve been figure sculpting for about a year and a half now so I can’t claim to be very experienced. I’m an emerging artist…maybe pre-emerging is more accurate. A bit afraid to come out of the shell, but writing this blog has helped me. Being around other artists and having the benefit of live models has helped me a thousand fold.

  3. Looks different from different angles.

  4. I actually dropped this one while removing it from the armature, and it changed her head and the arm in front. Funny thing, I liked the change so I went with the new lines.

    When I showed up to the next session with the model in our sculpture group, other people changed their sculptures too, because they liked the changes in mine. They asked me how I came up with the changes and uh…I had to tell them I dropped it.

  5. Kim,

    I know what you mean about having a live model. Some time ago I took the plunge and enrolled in an art school, MIAD, even though I had been out of school for quite a while. I had gotten my degree in film making and hadn’t actually done any drawing or painting. My sister encouraged me to do so and even paid my tuition for part time. I took figure drawing and was astonished about how much a live model means.

    The art museum here use to offer sessions with a live model that I attended for awhile after MIAD. A few of us in my building talked about (but never got it together) hiring models for sessions. A woman in a studio upstairs from me actually hired her own model for a series of paintings.

    I had an apprentice working here a few years ago and she and I were going to hire a model but she got a Fulbright scholarship and moved on.

    Eventually I’ll get back to working with a model.

Leave a Reply

