The third kind of rejection

gift-1 copy Rejection is an emotional shove, sometimes in the right direction.

The most common kind of rejection is simply a cold, unfeeling closed door that leads you to question your own existence.  I must force myself to knock louder.

Rejection can be hateful and devastating -the kind intended to inflict pain. Knowing someone hates you so much, they want to hurt you when you’re most vulnerable can be emotionally crippling.

…But there is also a third kind of rejection. The third kind of rejection redeems itself. It is the greatest rejection one can ever hope for. The third kind of rejection is a gentle hand pointing from where you are, lost now, toward the right way. It nurtures growth. The third kind of rejection is a gift -the potential of improvement and future acceptance.

I received the third kind of rejection recently from a gallery owner in Raleigh. I was referred by a friend and I have to say it was exactly what I needed. I needed a dialogue with someone who knows the business of art in this area. 

She gave me guidance on prices, suggested I talk to other sculptors in the area and also said she requires her artists to make themselves known locally in The Triangle area by showing with the three largest local art associations. These are the annual, juried Durham Art Guild show, Visual Art Exchange of Raleigh, and in the annual juried show by the Fine Arts League of Cary.

I am a sculptor and I’ve been told by other sculptors that a sculptor entering the Fine Arts League of Cary show is like slitting your own wrists. They simply don’t have the facility to accommodate 3-D work to begin with.  I entered this show anyway, despite what everyone told me about a year and a half ago and was rejected. …So I sucked it up and took a look at the 3-D work that was accepted. It was upstairs in a closet…behind a door and everything. They had room for about 5 pieces in the closet. I sculpt nudes, which can’t be exhibited in public gallery space in Cary. -maybe the closet thing will work in my favor here. This will be the super challenge for me. I did experience a glimmer of hope when I saw that the second place winner in the FALC juried show this year is a potter. This is a new emergence.

I am going to join VAE soon and am really excited to have the piece called Letting in the Light juried into the DAG show this year by Juror Barkley Hendricks.

Leave a Reply

