To sea or not to see

Survivors by Kim Marchesseault “Although the world is full of suffering, it is also full of the overcoming of it,” said Helen Keller.  I make these baby sea turtles out of dark clay. Each one is hand drawn in my clay and every shell is hand carved. They hang on the wall and group well together. They’re special to me. I call them Survivors. I saw sea turtles on all of my dives in Belize and Grand Cayman. I see nests protected here on the shores of North Carolina when we visit the coast. Some little ones don’t make it, but many do.

4 Responses

  1. Very beautiful!

  2. those are awesome.

  3. I don’t know why but another one of your works rang a bell for me. “To sea…” brings to mind a book I liked a lot when I last read it: “Far Tortuga” by Peter Matthiessen. It’s a beautifully written book.

    Todd

  4. I named these turtles survivors, but I think after reading what you’ve written, I will re-name them “To Sea”. I like it better.

Leave a Reply

